Nomadic Traces: Journeys of Arabian Scripts
Creative Weekend

21-22 June 2019

Warehouse421 is convening a two-day Creative Weekend that will provide new insights into the extensive research and production process that went into the making of the Nomadic Traces: Journeys of Arabian Scripts exhibition [still showing at Warehouse421 until 28 July].

The Creative Weekend features an engaging mix of hands-on workshops and moderated panel discussions that are all open to the public. Topics to be explored include pre-Islamic written cultural heritage and its relevance to contemporary art and design from the region, the role of writing and calligraphy within Islamic material culture, and the potential for art and graphic design to communicate regional cultural narratives.

Palmyrene Clay Structures

Palmyrene Clay Structures

22 June 2019

Participants in this workshop will create clay sculptures inspired by the Nomadic Traces: Journeys of Arabian Scripts exhibition.

Using the Palmyrene script, participants will first start by creating collages out of the letters. Using their collages as reference, they will then use basic ceramic hand building techniques to bring their pieces to life. The aim of this workshop is to both understand the basics of ceramic hand building techniques and to practice working three-dimensionally as a method for sketching ideas.

Workshop Breakdown:

10:30:10:45 Brief overview on basic ceramic techniques and the purpose of the workshop.
10:45-11:15 Quick collage exercise using Palmyrene letters.
11:15-12:30 Building basic forms of the pieces.
12:30-13:00 Break and allowing pieces to dry.
13:00-14:00 Assembling and finishing sculptures.

All materials provided, including stoneware clay, molds and hand building tools

Instructor Bio: Xeina AlMalki (b. 1992), is a ceramist from Damascus, Syria, who was born and raised in Jeddah, Saudi Arabia. She has studied and worked in the UAE since 2010. She graduated with a Bachelor of Interior Design from the American University of Sharjah in 2016. In 2011, Xeina shifted her focus to ceramics and has been dedicated to developing her practice in the UAE. She has since exhibited work at Warehouse 421 in Abu Dhabi (2018), the Vitra Design Museum in Weil am Rhein in Germany (2017), Beijing Design Week (2015) and Sikka Art Fair in Dubai (2015). In 2016, Xeina was nominated and selected for the Salama bint Hamdan Emerging Artist Fellowship in partnership with the Rhode Island School of Design, a program aimed at establishing a community of emerging artists and at developing their studio practice. Xeina AlMalki is currently working as a ceramist, balancing commissioned work with conceptual pieces. For her commissioned work, she designs and creates practical ceramic tableware.

Time
11:00 - 14:00

Instructor
Xeina Al Malki, Artist & Ceramist

Age 
16+

علامات رحالة: أسفار الخطوط العربية عطلة نهاية الأسبوع الإبداعية

21-22 يونيو 2019

يقدم معرض421 عطلة نهاية الأسبوع الإبداعية والتي يلقي من خلالها وعلى مدى يومين الضوء على البحوث المكثفة والعمليات الإنتاجية التي انطلقت ضمن المرحلة التحضيرية لمعرض علامات رحّالة: أسفار الخطوط العربية" المقام حالياً في معرض421 والمستمر حتى 28 يوليو.

وتتضمن عطلة نهاية الأسبوع الإبداعية باقة متنوعة من ورش العمل التفاعلية والجلسات الحوارية المفتوحة للجمهور. وستناقش الفعالية المستوحاة من معرض "علامات رحّالة: أسفار الخطوط العربية" موضوعات متعددة منها التراث الثقافي المكتوب قبل الإسلام وصلته بالفن والتصميم المعاصريّن في الشرق الأوسط، ودور الكتابة والخط في الثقافة الإسلامية الملموسة، وقدرة الفن والتصميم على إيصال السرد الثقافي الإقليمي.

 الهياكل الطينية التدمرية

الهياكل الطينية التدمرية

22 يونيو 2019

الوصف: سيقوم المشاركون في هذه الورشة بصنع تماثيل من الطين مستوحاة من معرض "علامات رحالة: أسفار الحروف العربية".

بالاعتماد على النصوص التدمرية، سيبدأ المشاركون بإنشاء صور كولاج مجمعة من الحروف، ثم سيستخدمون المهارات الأساسية لتشكيل الخزف باليدين لتحويل صور الكولاج إلى قطع فنية حية. تهدف هذه الورشة إلى فهم أساسيات تقنيات تشكيل الخزف يدوياً وإنتاج أعمال فنية مجسمة ثلاثية الأبعاد كوسيلة لرسم الأفكار.

جدول ورشة العمل:
10:30 – 10:45 لمحة موجزة عن التقنيات الأساسية للخزف والغرض من ورشة العمل
10:45 – 11:15 تدريب سريع على انتاج صور الكولاج المجمعة باستخدام الحروف التدمرية
11:15-12:30 بناء أشكال القطع الأساسية.
12:30-13:00 استراحة وإتاحة المجال لجفاف القطع الخزفية.
13:00 – 14:00 تجميع وإنهاء المنحوتات.

سيتم توفير جميع المواد المستخدمة، بما في ذلك الطين الحجري والقوالب وأدوات التشكيل اليدوية

تحت إشراف: زينة المالكي (مواليد 1992)، خبيرة في فنون الخزف من دمشق، سوريا، ولدت ونشأت في جدة، المملكة العربية السعودية، وتدرس وتعمل في دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة منذ عام 2010. حصلت عام 2016 على البكالوريوس في التصميم الداخلي من الجامعة الأمريكية في الشارقة. في عام 2011، حولت زينة تركيزها إلى الخزف وكرست جهودها لمشروعها الفني في الإمارات. ومنذ ذلك الحين، قدمت أعمالها في معرض421 في أبوظبي (2018)، ومتحف فيترا ديزاين إن فييل آم رين في ألمانيا (2017)، وأسبوع بكين للتصميم (2015)، ومعرض سكة الفني في دبي (2015). في عام 2016، اختيرت زينة للحصول على "منحة سلامة بنت حمدان للفنانين الناشئين" بالتعاون مع كلية رود آيلاند للتصميم، والتي تهدف إلى رعاية ودعم مجتمع الفنانين الناشئين وتطوير مهاراتهم وأساليب ممارساتهم الفنية داخل الاستوديو. تعمل زينة المالكي حالياً على انتاج قطع خزفية عبر الموازنة بين مشاريع التكليف وإبداع قطع فنية مفاهيمية. وتتضمن مشاريعها التكليفية، تصميم وتصنيع أدوات مائدة خزفية تتميز باستخداماتها العملية.

الوقت
11:00– 14:00

تحت إشراف
زينة المالكي، فنانة وخزافة

العمر
16 وما فوق