HERSTORY: FILM & THE ARAB WOMAN

HERSTORY: FILM & THE ARAB WOMAN

27 March 2019

Add to Cart (Free)
  • 1 Ticket
  • 2 Tickets
  • 3 Tickets
  • 4 Tickets
Loading

MAMSOUS (2018)

Directed by: Shatha Masoud
UAE
PG | Short Documentary| Arabic | 24 min

While struggling between depression and anxiety, a filmmaker focuses on three people who share their own experiences with clinical depression and panic attacks.

 

CACTUS FLOWER (2017)

Directed by: Hala Elkoussy
Egypt
PG 13 |Drama, Fantasy, Romance, Feature | Arabic | 104 min

Aida (33), a struggling actress of provincial background, finds herself kicked out on the streets of Cairo, together with her old and reclusive neighbor, Samiha (70). With no money and nowhere to go, the two women, aided by Yassin (20), a street-savvy youth, embark on a journey to find shelter. Amid the banal and at times disastrous turns their journey takes, they move along parallel paths of self-discovery. An extraordinary friendship grows among the unlikely trio, like a delicate flower blooming from a thorny cactus.

In partnership with Cinema Akil

MARCH PROGRAM

Warehouse421 is proud to present another diverse program of workshops, an exhibition, short courses, film screenings and events for the people of Abu Dhabi and the UAE this March.

Read more

This month marks the opening of Warehouse421’s latest exhibition, Nomadic Traces: Journeys of Arabian Scripts [opens 16 March], a new exhibition conceived and curated by Dr Huda Smitshuijzen AbiFarès, that explores the origins of six of the most influential alphabets in the history of the Middle East, and features new commissioned works by artists and designers from the UAE, Saudi Arabia, Jordan, Syria, Lebanon and Palestine.

This month’s interactive program includes the commencement of a new short course decoding the theory and practice behind documentary films, and the next installment of our popular short course on designing and making brass and silver jewelry. 

Two-day workshops are also being offered for aspiring photographers that want to go from shooting in Auto Mode to using Semi-Manual Modes with confidence, and intermediate photographers that want to make the leap from Semi-Manual Modes to Full Manual Mode. 

The “Khayal” series in collaboration with Early Starters, which brings children’s books to life in imaginative ways, is marking Abu Dhabi’s “Month of Reading” – and the late Dr. Seuss’s birthday! – with a fun and interactive celebration of some children’s book favorites from around the world, featuring Shel Silverstein, a musical bear hunt, and one very hungry caterpillar, among others.    

The “Herstory: Film & The Arab Woman” series, being hosted in collaboration with Cinema Akil and featuring contemporary films by or about Arab women, will continue its run until April 2019, with Mamsous and Cactus Flower – being screened this month. 

Finally, we are proud to welcome the Residents of Art Dubai 2019 – Verónica Vázquez [Uruguay], José Manuel Mesías [Cuba], Flora Rebollo [Brazil], and Jerry B. Martin [Colombia] – to Warehouse421 and we are excited to be playing a part in their immersion in the UAE art scene.

As always, Warehouse421 is proud to be working with a number of local and international partners, including Art Dubai, Cinema Akil, Early Starters, and Gulf Photo Plus, and Khatt Foundation, among others, on its public programs and events this month. 

Read less

المرأة العربية والأفلام

المرأة العربية والأفلام

27 مارس 2019

أضف تذكرة (مجاناً)
  • 1 تذكرة
  • 2 تذاكر
  • 3 تذاكر
  • 4 تذاكر
Loading

مَمْسوسْ (2018

إخراج: شذى مسعود
الإمارات العربية المتحدة
وثائقي, روائي قصير | العربية | 24 دقيقة | PG
 
  

حين لامَسَتْ أطياف الجنون، قبل مُلامسة بِدايات هذا الفيلم. صانعة أفلام تقوم بتوثيق ثلاث شخصيات وهم يروون تجاربهم مع الاكتئاب الحاد ونوبات الذعر.

 

زهرة الصبار (2017)

إخراج: هلا القوسي
مصر
دراما, خيال, رومانسية, روائي طويل | العربية | 104 دقيقة | PG-13 


عايدة، ممثلة صاعدة ومنحدرة من خلفية قروية، تجد نفسها بين ليلة وضحاها، مطرودة من منزلها وتجول في شوارع القاهرة بصحبة جارتها البرجوازية المنطوية سميحة، ليس لدى المرأتين أيّ مال أو مكان تلجآن إليه. وبمساعدة شاب اسمه ياسين، تبدأ المرأتان رحلة البحث عن مأوى. وما بين أحداث عادية، وأخرى كارثية، يتحرك الثلاثة برحلة لاستكشاف الذات، فيما تنمو بينهم صداقة استثنائية، مثل زهرة رقيقة تتفتّح من بطن صبارة شائكة.

بالتعاون مع سينما عقيل

 

 

برنامج شهر مارس

يسر معرض421 أن يقدم برنامج فعاليات شهر مارس، الذي يحفل بورش العمل وتقديم معرض جديد والدورات القصيرة وعروض الأفلام جلسات قراءة الكتب لأفراد المجتمع الفني في أبوظبي وكافة أنحاء دولة الإمارات.

إقرأ المزيد

وسيشهد شهر مارس افتتاح معرض جديد من معرض421 تحت عنوان "علامات رحّالة: أسفار الخطوط العربية" وذلك يوم 16 مارس، حيث يعكس المعرض رؤية الدكتورة هدى سميتسهوزن أبي فارس، ليستكشف أصول ست من أكثر الأبجديات تأثيراً في التاريخ من منطقة الشرق الأوسط. ويستعرض المعرض أعمالاً جديدة مكلفة لفنانين ومصممين من دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة والمملكة العربية السعودية والأردن وسوريا ولبنان وفلسطين.

وستنطلق خلال البرنامج التفاعلي لشهر مارس في معرض421 دورة قصيرة جديدة حول نظريات وممارسات الأفلام الوثائقية، بالإضافة إلى حلقة جديدة من الدورة القصيرة لتصميم وصنع مجوهرات النحاس والفضة.

علاوة على ذلك، سيتم تنظيم ورش عمل مدتها يومان للمصورين الطموحين الذين يرغبون في الانتقال من التصوير بالوضع التلقائي إلى التصوير بالوضع شبه اليدوي باحترافية، والمصورين ذوي الخبرة المتوسطة لاستبدال وضع التصوير شبه اليدوي بالوضع اليدوي الكامل.

ومن جهة أخرى، تحتفي سلسلة "خيال" بالتعاون مع مؤسسة ’Early Starters‘، التي تقدّم كتب الأطفال بطريقة خيالية ومبتكرة، بشهر القراءة في أبوظبي، ويوم ميلاد المؤلف الراحل ثيودور سوس، وذلك من خلال فعالية مرحة وتفاعلية مستوحاة من بعض الكتب المفضلة لدى الأطفال في مختلف أنحاء العالم، بما في ذلك مؤلفات شيل سيلفرشتاين، ومن ضمنها عرض موسيقي لـ "نحن ذاهبون لنصيد دباً" و"اليرقة الجائعة" وغيرها.

وخلال شهر مارس، ستستمر سلسلة "التاريخ: الأفلام والمرأة العربية" التي تُقام بالتعاون مع "سينما عقيل" حتى أبريل 2019، حيث ستستعرض أفلاماً معاصرة أبدعتها سيدات عربيات أو تتناول قضايا المرأة العربية، مع عرض لفلمي "ممسوس" و"زهرة الصبار".

وأخيراً، يستضيف معرض421 الفنانين المقيمين المشاركين في معرضآرت دبي 2019‘؛ فيرونيكا فاسكيز [الأوروغواي] وخوسيه مانويل ميسياس [كوبا] وفلورا ريبولو [البرازيل] ، وجيري مارتن [كولومبيا]، للمساهمة في تعزيز تفاعلهم مع المشهد الفني الإماراتي.

ويفخر معرض421 هذا الشهر بتعاونه مع مجموعة من الشركاء المحليين والدوليين لتنظيم برامجه وفعالياته العامة، بما في ذلك معرض "آرت دبي" ودار "سينما عقيل" ومؤسسة "إيرلي ستارترز" ومعرض "جلف فوتو بلس" و"مؤسسة خط" وغيرهم.

أقرأ أقل