The Art of Papermaking 18-1-19

The Art of Papermaking 18-1-19

18 January 2019

Warehouse421 is hosting dedicated workshops at Masdar City focused on the environment and the arts as part of Abu Dhabi Sustainability Week.

This workshop provides a creative way to reuse, reinvent and recycle paper scraps into your own handmade paper. Participants will learn the ancient art of papermaking using an ordinary kitchen blender, deckle and molds, and junk paper.  These materials will be used to demonstrate the basic techniques of pulp production, forming, couching and air-drying to produce beautiful handmade papers that can be used for cards, scrapbooking, printmaking, drawing, painting, bookmaking, and more.

Instructor:  Dr. Elham Shafaei

Friday, 18 January: 10:30-13:00

Location: Masdar City, Abu Dhabi

jANUARY at Warehouse421

Warehouse421 welcomes 2019 with a fresh program of workshops, film screenings, and book readings this January.

Read more

100/100 Hundred Best Arabic Posters exhibition and the Architecture of Loneliness exhibition, co-curated with Gulf Photo Plus, continue through this month. Artist and architectural photographer, Mohamed Somji, whose work is featured in the exhibition, will also lead a photography workshop that will see participants venture out into the Mina Zayed district with their cameras.

This month’s series of hands-on workshops cover a range of creative disciplines, including ‘zine-making,’ paper-making, upcycling and material casting, with a number of sessions taking place in partnership with Masdar City, as part of Abu Dhabi Sustainability Week. A three-day Arabic calligraphy course will also be the first of a number of short courses at Warehouse421 in 2019.

In collaboration with Early Starters, we are excited to debut a new series named “Khayal” which will bring children’s books to life through readings and fun activities.

Finally, the “Herstory: Film & The Arab Woman” series, being hosted in collaboration with Cinema Akil and featuring contemporary films by or about Arab women, will continue its run at Warehouse421 until April 2019.

As always, Warehouse421 is proud to be working with a number of local and international partners, including Gulf Photo Plus, Tashkeel, Early Starters and Cinema Akil, among others.

 

Read less

فن إعادة تدوير الورق

فن إعادة تدوير الورق

18 يناير 2019

يستضيف معرض421 ورش عمل متخصصة في مدينة مصدر تركز على البيئة والفنون، وذلك كجزء من أسبوع أبوظبي للاستدامة.

تقدم هذه الورشة طريقة مبتكرة لإعادة استخدام قصاصات الورق وإعادة صياغتها وإعادة تدويرها إلى منتجات ورقية مصنعة يدوياً. وسيتعلم المشاركون فن صناعة الورق القديم باستخدام خلاط المطبخ العادي، وقوالب التشكيل، والورق غير المرغوب فيه. ستستخدم هذه المواد لشرح التقنيات الأساسية لإنتاج مادة الورق الخام، وتشكيلها، وتمديدها وتجفيفها باستخدام الهواء لإنتاج أوراق جميلة مصنعة يدوياً، والتي يمكن استخدامها لعمل البطاقات، والأشكال بالورق المقوى، والطباعة، والرسم، والتلوين، وصناعة الكتب، وغيرها من الاستخدامات.

تحت إشراف: الدكتورة إلهام الشافعي

الجمعة، 18 يناير: 10:30 – 13:00

المكان: مدينة مصدر، أبوظبي

برنامج شهر يناير في معرض 421 

يستقبل معرض 421 عام 2019 ببرنامج جديد من ورش العمل وعروض الأفلام وجلسات قراءة الكتب في شهر يناير.

إقرأ المزيد

ويستمر 100/100 أفضل مئة ملصق عربي ومعرض "الحضرية والعزلة"، المعرض المشترك الأول الذي ينظمه معرض 421، وذلك بالتعاون مع جلف فوتو بلس خال هذا الشهر. كما سيشرف الفنان والمصور المتخصص في تصوير العمارة محمد سمجي، والذي تُقدم أعماله في هذا المعرض، على ورشة عمل حول التصوير الفوتوغرافي، والتي ستأخذ المشاركين إلى منطقة ميناء زايد ليكتشفوها من خلال عدسات كاميراتهم.

وتغطي سلسلة ورش العمل لهذا الشهر مجموعة واسعة من التخصصات الإبداعية، بما في ذلك إعداد المجلات الصغيرة، وصناعة الورق، وإعادة التدوير، وصب المواد، حيث ستعقد عدد من الجلسات في "مدينة مصدر"، وذلك ضمن فعاليات "أسبوع أبو ظبي للاستدامة". كما سيتم البدء بتقديم الدورات القصيرة في معرض 421 لعام 2019 استهلالًا بدورة الخط العربي التي تستمر لمدة ثلاثة أيام.

ويسرنا، وبالتعاون مع نادي الكتاب “Early Starters”، أن نقدم لأول مرة سلسلة "خيال"، والتي ستضفي على تجربة القراءة للصغار طابعاً مشوقاً نابض بالحياة من خلال القراءات والأنشطة الترفيهية.

وتستمر سلسلة أفلام "المرأة العربية والأفلام"، والتي يستضيفها معرض 421 بالتعاون مع سينما عقيل، وتتمحور حول الأفلام التي تقدمها المرأة العربية والتي تدور حولها، حتى أبريل 2019

يفخر معرض 421 بالتعاون مع مجتمع موهوب من المتخصصين والمؤسسات وسينما عقيل "Early Starters" الإبداعية، بما في ذلك جلف فوتو بلس وغيرها.

أقرأ أقل