ONLINE PROGRAM

Warehouse421 is bringing parts of its public programs online. On this page, you can listen to past talks and new conversations, take part in tutorials, and follow along with curators and artists as they discuss exhibitions and process.

Workshops

You Are Here: An Adventure in Mapping Exploration and Observation

5 June

Add to Cart (AED 120)
  • 1 Ticket
  • 2 Tickets
Loading
You Are Here: An Adventure in Mapping Exploration and Observation

This workshop aims to introduce students to the creative process of mapping. Artists, photographers, and designers have long appropriated maps as a means to document and make sense of experience and place. Traditional maps say ‘this is how the place is,’ but artists weave their narratives into subjective, personal, and equally valuable perceptions of place.

 

Participants will become psychogeographers and learn how to make personal maps through a creative process of observation and reflection. They will encounter different ways to record, including photography, drawing, written word, and artifact. They will learn how to collate a visual collection into a meaningful representation of a place.

 

The end of the course will culminate in a collaborative map that will reflect their journeys and experiences.

 

About the instructor:

Catherine Donaldson is an International award-winning Illustrator and Educator. In 2019 and virtually in 2020, she exhibited at the Abu Dhabi book fair and subsequently was commissioned to illustrate a children’s book, which she has just completed. Catherine also won the Professional Illustration prize, and in the same summer, was a prizewinner at the Cheltenham Illustration awards. She exhibits regularly and has a prestigious client list.

 Her work has  been profiled in Gulf news and in The National. Catherine is currently one of eleven artists and photographers chosen to participate in a mentorship programme in association with Gulf Photo Plus and Warehouse 421.

 

Workshop schedule:

15 mins - Introduction to the artistic practice of mapping. Show examples and discuss possible stories

1 hour -1 hour 15 - Collection of materials - making drawings and taking photographs

1 hour 30 mins - planning, printing and exhibiting

يسعدنا أن نقدم لكم بعض من برامجنا العامة من خلال موقعنا الإلكتروني.

من هذه المنصة، يمكنكم الاستماع إلى مجموعة من المحادثات السابقة والجديدة، كما يمكنكم متابعة مجموعة من العروض التعليمية، بالإضافة إلى الاستمتاع بجولات ونقاشات حول معارضنا.

ورش عمل

«أنتم هنا: مغامرة في رسم واستكشاف وتمحّص الخرائط»

5 يونيو

أضف تذكرة (AED 120)
  • 1 تذكرة
  • 2 تذاكر
Loading
«أنتم هنا: مغامرة في رسم واستكشاف وتمحّص الخرائط»

سعى ورشة العمل هذه إلى تعريف المشتركين بالعمليّة الإبداعيّة لرسم الخرائط. طويلا ما استعمل الفنّانون والمصوّرون والمصمّمون الخرائط كأدوات لتوثيق وفهم التّجارب والأماكن. تصف الخرائط التّقليديّة الأماكن بما هي عليه، ويمزج معها الفنّانون رواياتهم الخاصّة في تصوّرات شخصيّة وغير موضوعيّة لكنّها قيّمة للمكان.

 

سيصير المشتركون في ورشة العمل هذه سايكوجغرافيّين، وسيتعلّمون كيفيّة صنع الخرائط الشّخصيّة عبر عمليّة إبداعيّة من التّمحّص والتّأمّل. سيتعرّف المشتركون على طرق مختلفة للتّسجيل، بما في ذلك التّصوير والرّسم والكتابة والثّقافة، وسيتعلّمون كيفيّة تصيير مجموعة بصريّة من الأشياء إلى تمثيل ذي معنى للأماكن.


ستفضي ورشة العمل إلى إنتاج خريطة تعاونيّة تعكس تجارب ومسيرات كلّ من المشتركين.

 

عن المشرف:

كاثرين دونالدسون رسّامة ومعلّمة حائزة على جوائز دوليّة. عُرضت أعمالها في معرض أبو ظبي للكتب عام 2019 وافتراضيّا عام 2020، وكُلّفت لاحقا بالرّسم في كتاب للأطفال أكملته حديثا. حازت على جائزة الرّسم المحترف في مغرض أبو ظبي للكتب وكانت إحدى الفائزين في جوائز تشلتنهام للرّسم في ذات الصّيف. تعرض كاثرين أعمالها بانتظام وتثير قائمة عملائها الإعجاب.

كُتب عن أعمالها في صحيفتَي «غلف نيوز» و«ذا ناشينال». كاثرين الآن واحدة من أحد عشر فنّان وفنّانة ومصوّر ومصوّرة اختيروا للمشاركة في برنامج تدريبيّ بالشّراكة مع «جلف فوتو پلس» ومعرض421.

 

برنامج الورشة:

15 دقيقة: مقدّمة في الممارسة الفنّيّة لرسم الخرائط: أمثلة وقصص

ساعة إلى ساعة و15 دقيقة: تشكيلة من المواد: رسم وتصوير

ساعة و30 دقيقة: تخطيط وطباعة وعرض